When a recovery plan runs, groups of virtual machines are started according to priority. Before a priority group
is started, all machines in the next-higher priority group must have recovered or failed to recover. As long as
dependancies have been met, the recovery engine attempts to power on as many virtual machines in parallel
as vCenter supports.




Site Recovery Manager 5 brought a change from 3 levels of priorities (High, Medium, Low) to 5 levels of priorites (1-5 with 1 being the highest priority).


The priorities for virtual machines are set within the recovery plan steps. To change the priority level of a VM within a recovery plan follow the below steps.


1. Open vSphere Client and Click Site Recovery Manager plugin


2. Select Recovery Plans from the left inventory view of SRM.


3. Click on the recovery plan you want to modify and navigate to the "Recovery Steps" tab.


4. Right Click the VM for which you want to change the priority for and select Priority-->and the desired priority.





5. The VM will be moved into its new priority group.






Share this blog post on social media:

Social Links


All advice, installation/configuration how to guides, troubleshooting and other information on this website are provided as-is with no warranty or guarantee. Whilst the information provided is correct to the best of my knowledge, I am not reponsible for any issues that may arise using this information, and you do so at your own risk. As always before performing anything; check, double check, test and always ensure you have a backup.

Copyright ©2008-2021 Andy Barnes - Please do not copy any content including images without prior consent!

Designed and Hosted by Andy Barnes